Graph theory class report

So, now here we are at the nearly end of semester and probably we will just need to deal with sick final exams for the next two weeks. Hooray! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am now going to write about what I have gained in graph theory class that I am taking this semester at Mathematics Department. In short, I am very grateful to take the class and I am looking forward to another mathematics class, probably geometry for next semester.

Class lectures

The class is pretty fun. We relax and enjoy the lectures from Ibu Denny R. S., who has taught me Calculus I and II. There are 2 meetings every week; on Tuesday morning 08:00 – 09:40 and Wednesday 12:00 – 13:00. The only problem with the class is that we often started late and ended late. Bu Denny’s style of teaching is good but I believe she could do much better by challenging the students more. ๐Ÿ™‚

Books, Materials, Assesments

The book used in the class is Introduction to Graph Theory by Gary Chartrand and Ping Zhang. The book is probably two-star and I thought this course would be about “some real serious graph theory”. Well, at least we have got something good for fulfilling our basics, but I think some stuff like Hamiltonian and Eulerian stuff that probably is just about revisiting theorems should be skipped (we have seen them too much on discrete mathematics class). I found them fascinating by the way. The material on class presentation on the other hand is not from the book, yet from Bu Denny’s colleague from Australia. The relation between the slides and books is quite a mess but the fact is we can handle it.

Bu Denny gave pretty much freedoms to students about the problems to do for assignments. It is from books, mostly; proving theorems and doing the problems. This is a good method I think where the students do different things and feel more like human than robot. ย There are 2 kinds of assignments; individual and pair. I worked with Kak Pangambe (Fasilkom ’08) for pair assignments. The individual assignments ย are basically about doing problems from the books (as many as possible), though firstly I only understood I may pick one problem and done! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The pair assignments are about proving theorems on the books and presenting the proof in front of the class. Good discussion, on the holes here and there! ๐Ÿ™‚

The midterm exams was like ideal exam. There 8 problems, you may choose 6 problems. The unique thing here is that students proposed the problems! Wow! It’s pretty hard to decide which subset of the problems you should choose. Some sounds hopeless. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ah, finally I got pretty good scores with FAIL mistakes here:

*photos coming soon*

Friends

Being a “tourist” here, I feel very comfortable. I meet new friends here such as Fikri, Pino, Dion, Dini, and some other that I forget the names but at least I remember their faces! ๐Ÿ™‚ There is also old boring acquaintance, Yoyo. Lol. Well, atmosphere of the class is very important for me. I am looking forward to different classes. ๐Ÿ™‚

I have asked Bu Denny about probable research topics in graph theory. She promised me to give one to work with me, but I haven’t received the topic yet. I will always ask. ๐Ÿ˜›

Conclusion

Graph theory class is four star for me. It’s a new learning experience about some tools I can pick to destroy graph theory problems. I hope that this class has brought me good something in future. ๐Ÿ™‚ Please take note that this whole writing is written on subjective basis of my own judgment. Please do not take this seriously as I do not write this without expecting broader impact.

 

2 Comments

  1. I also took graph theory class this semester, hoping that I can get an insight to solving numerous graph problems. The book used is Graph Theory and Its Application, if I’m not mistaken, written by Bondy and Murty. Well, since I only hoped for an insight, I think I’m quite satisfied with class I attended. My spatial ability is very bad, so yeah, it’s quite satisfying :))
    Are you interested in mathematical analysis? I will take Introductory to Real Analysis next semester, after taking Introductory to Complex Analysis this semester (it’s quite weird).

    Reply

    1. Good for you. I think Bondy and Murty’s is a little bit deeper (and technical).
      No, I haven’t decided to work on mathematical analysis. Probably, I will take Geometry (again in Dept. Mat) next semester. I’m looking to opportunities that are related to computation. Ah, I will take Computational Geometry too here in my Faculty! Next semester, I will pretend to be geometer. (Ah, isn’t it fun if we have theme every semester?)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

